The Breton Far

This stodgy custard cake is delicious for breakfast or dessert.  I encountered it while I was in Brittany and fell in love!

Here is a recipe I picked up on a postcard while I was there.

Ingredients

  • 150g plain flour
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 150g pitted prunes
  • 100g castor sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 2 tablespoons rum or brandy

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.  Grease a shallow baking dish.
  2. Slowly heat the rum and the prunes together in a small saucepan for 2-3 minutes.  Set aside.
  3. Combine the flour and salt together in a large bowl.  Add half the milk and slowly whisk to a paste so there are no lumps.  Whisk in the remaining milk until smooth.
  4. Add the sugar and continue to whisk.
  5. Crack the eggs and one by one, add to the batter.
  6. Finally, add the vanilla essence and mix until completely smooth.
  7. Drain the prunes and scatter these at the bottom of the dish.
  8. Pour the batter on top.
  9. Bake for about 35-40 minutes, or until risen, golden and a skewer comes out clean.

**As I haven’t an oven, I have sadly not had the chance to test this recipe out.  I plan to borrow a friend’s next week (Giana – pleeeeease?) to give it a whirl.  If you try it, do let me know what you think!

***This image is not my own, it was taken from google images.

My name is Carly Morris. I was blessed to have been born in one of the most beautiful places on earth, New Zealand. Hailing from Auckland, the City of Sails, I am a writer, listener, language lover (verging on the obsessed!), teacher, baker, big sister, mad foodie and absolute travel bug. I am off on my biggest adventure yet... to live in Spain.

10 Comment on “The Breton Far

  1. Pingback: The Medieval Villages of Brittany « miramiandmog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 933 other followers

