Luv u

More and more people have asked me lately: Are you not writing anymore?

Yes, yes, I am!  Here I am! Although, in seeing that my last blog post was six months ago, it makes me sad and sorry to think I’ve neglected you so, dear blog.

Thank you people because the more you have asked me this, the more I’ve felt the pang to pick up the pen again. Or the keyboard. You know what I mean.

I tend to do this – go through a regular blog hiatus and it typically falls at a time where life just feels too overwhelming.  Do you ever get that?  It’s purely self-inflicted and I refuse to feel sorry for myself.

Yes, I’ve been in that transitional phase AGAIN. New country, new pace, new social circles and most certainly, a time of missing the old ones.   And lately, I’ve gone through one of those phases where I can’t help but question why the hell I do this to myself.  Enough upheaval already!

A few months ago, reality struck me.  I’m not in Kansas anymore.  Life is not all Emerald Cities and ruby slippers.  Or rather, tapas, vino tinto and long days of sunshine.  Life is au contraire.  It’s not enough hours in the week, not enough money in the month and many long days of grey.  Well at least, although that’s not entirely that true, it’s recently felt that way.  Sadly, I can’t click my heels and return home whenever the going gets tough so I am taking matters into my own hands.  It’s time to curb the negativity, it’s back to the bright side I go to resolve the rut in which I have so neatly pigeon-holed myself.

I’ve joined the 100 Happy Days Challenge.  And not because I am not happy, but because…

  1. All pleasures in life should start with the small things.  When life becomes too busy, we so easily pass these by.  It was the small things that inspired the blog in the first place and somehow, lately, in all life’s daily activity, I’ve lost sight of these
  2. To remember why I moved to London in the first place because there is plenty of things here to enjoy!

The premise is simple.  Every day, post a picture of something that made you happy.  If my smaller happy moments lead to larger inspiration, I’ll share the highlights here but because 100 Happy Days is a challenge for me, and miramiandmog is about moments and not my friends, I’ll keep my people pics private, if that’s ok.

Speaking of small things that make me happy – today’s feature image is a masterpiece created by none other than my mum, who, is clearly very skilled at creating art on her iPhone but most of all who loves me and that makes me smile.

Can you be happy for 100 days?  Join the 100 Happy Days Challenge: http://100happydays.com/.

My name is Carly Morris. I was blessed to have been born in one of the most beautiful places on earth, New Zealand. Hailing from Auckland, the City of Sails, I am a writer, listener, language lover (verging on the obsessed!), teacher, baker, big sister, mad foodie and absolute travel bug. I am off on my biggest adventure yet... to live in Spain.

2 Comment on “100 Happy Days

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 933 other followers

