After a whirlwind two weeks finishing up my contract in Cordoba, farewelling some really good friends, trips to the beach and celebrating an… erhmmm, twenty-somethingth birthday, last night I arrived in London.

It’s the second time I have been back in six months so clearly it’s doing something right for me.  In between soy flat whites and Asian food (oh how I’ve missed you!), Anglican churches and shopping on Oxford Street (and coming away with a nice little toy… a MacBook Air – the perfect travelling companion) – I’ve really been quite enjoying the creature comforts that remind me of home and the ease of doing things without thinking in another language.

I will be back in Cordoba at the end of September to begin a new contract for the next academic year and I am sure by then I will be well and truly ready for it .  In the meantime, I’m in the UK for a month to work and from there… who knows?  I am toying with the idea of studying Spanish in Galicia and then moving onto France for a well-awaited reunion with my sister in Paris on the 16th of September – wahoo!  But between now and finishing my contract in England, any opportunity could arise.  Cheap flight to Italy… why not?  An attractive train fare to Edinburgh, yes please.  I have no plans, let’s just wait and see.  As much as I love my life in Cordoba, for now, it’s nice to be on the road again, and to feel that sense of adventure.  New experiences inevitably open up new doors and that’s exciting.

Stay tuned and please be patient with me – I recently had some troubling news that there is no wifi at my new job so I will only have limited internet access for the next few weeks but I will endeavour to keep posting when I can.  You may even see a feature from a blogger friend of mine… or two.  Ooh – just you wait.

Keep smiling!

Big red bus

My name is Carly Morris. I was blessed to have been born in one of the most beautiful places on earth, New Zealand. Hailing from Auckland, the City of Sails, I am a writer, listener, language lover (verging on the obsessed!), teacher, baker, big sister, mad foodie and absolute travel bug. I am off on my biggest adventure yet... to live in Spain.

Leave a Reply

