Today marks a year to the day since I left New Zealand.  It’s my travelersary as I’d like to call it.  I can’t quite believe it really.

I feel a bit like this kid who I saw watching the Gigantes (giant puppets) of Pamplona perform a folk dance in the city square this weekend.

Wow

Imagine that.  Giants dancing?  Awestruck.  But wait until you catch them chasing you with a fake mallet.  More about them another day.  I digress.

So yes, one year since I left my job, sold up my personal possessions and jumped on a plane to the other side of the earth.  In many ways it feels like that time has gone by so quickly, but in other respects I have done so much that it seems an eternity.

I’ve made a life for myself in Europe; found a new job in a different profession that I surprisingly really enjoy (teaching?  Who knew!), found a flat in a city that I adore, met a bunch of incredible people from all walks of life, cracked into the blogosphere where I continued to write, though admittedly, not nearly enough, and where unexpectedly, I found yet even more friends from all walks of life.  I visited 36 different towns and cities, reignited my love for the French language and read a novel while I was at it, oh and I learnt to speak Spanish.

I am certain the list of achievements goes on.  I have failed to go down the road of personal development and self-discovery here – or in my case, self-rediscovery – because I think with all that I have listed above, that much would be clear.  These things come as a natural offshoot to being pushed completely out of your comfort zone.

There is no doubt that I miss my family and friends back home incredibly.  They are my world.  But we only get one shot at life, right?  So I’m here to make the most of it. It’s safe to (selfishly) say I am having a good time.  And I’m not sure if you recall in my very first blog post, I vowed one thing.

I am not coming home until I am ready.

 

…Except for one very important wedding next March.  See you very briefly then New Zealand!!

My name is Carly Morris. I was blessed to have been born in one of the most beautiful places on earth, New Zealand. Hailing from Auckland, the City of Sails, I am a writer, listener, language lover (verging on the obsessed!), teacher, baker, big sister, mad foodie and absolute travel bug. I am off on my biggest adventure yet... to live in Spain.

6 Comment on “One year today

Leave a Reply

