Dancer and horse

Over the past few weeks I have been lucky enough to have been showered with visitors.  Both wanted and unwanted.  Among close family and friendly friends, I’ve also had a wee… mouse situation to contend with.  Seems my little visitor got comfy in my flat while I was away.  I don’t blame him, I like it here too.  But as it turns out, however grown-up I sometimes feel with my own flat on the other side of the world, I have discovered I am one big. fat. BABY.  No.  I am bigger than the mouse.  I am bigger than the mouse.  I am bigger than the mouse.

The mouse incident, was swiftly followed up by another.  The washing machine broke.  Oh and then I took painkillers that I am allergic to and broke out in a rash.  I’m here to remind you that my life is not all that glamorous.  It’s been fun settling back in.  But I’ve arrived, flat clean, Felipe the mouse seemingly no longer present and I’ve had my first day to myself in I cannot even recall how long.  Bliss.  It’s 1.45pm and I’m still in bed.

Last Sunday I was privileged enough to be shouted to an Andalusian equestrian show, right here on my door step and it was phenomenal.  I came away feeling incredibly inspired and filled with a much-needed dose of Spanish artistry.

I am no horse expert but I have spent many years of my life studying dance and the choreography and the precision involved in the whole affair was one to be marvelled at.  Flamenco music and dance combined with the elegance and skill of the horse and its rider, I really got my cultural fix that day.  It only fuelled my desire and determination to find a dance school that puts on flamenco classes in the mornings, not the evenings, when I am at work.  There must be one, somewhere in this city.

Personal quests aside, it is evident from living in these parts that the horse is a special animal to the Andalusians.  It is no more evident on Andalusia day, in February, when citizens from all around the Cordoba province ride into the city in horse-on-cart, parading these beautiful creatures in traditional dress and finery.  It is also obvious at the Feria, among other occasions.  But this show, is one that runs year-round and is in the ancient royal stables next to the palace, the Alcazar.  It lasts an hour and you can see it for a modest €15.  But do be sure to get there early as seats with good views of the arena are hard to come by.  You will see this from my pictures below.

The Andalusian breed of horse has lived here for thousands of years and has been recognised as an individual breed since the 15th century.  Once prized by the nobility as a war-horse, the breed was also used as a tool of diplomacy by the Spanish Kings.  It is very strongly built, elegant with thick mane and tail, commonly grey in colour.  They are known for being intelligent and docile and famous for being marvellous jumpers.

Take a look.

Flamenco

Andalucian horse

Stance

Elegance

My name is Carly Morris. I was blessed to have been born in one of the most beautiful places on earth, New Zealand. Hailing from Auckland, the City of Sails, I am a writer, listener, language lover (verging on the obsessed!), teacher, baker, big sister, mad foodie and absolute travel bug. I am off on my biggest adventure yet... to live in Spain.

2 Comment on “Andalucian horse show

Leave a Reply

